People: Program 6

Bob Pressey (Program Leader)
Email: Bob.Pressey@jcu.edu.au
Phone: +61 7 4781 6194

 

 

Tatjana Good (Research Assistant to Bob Pressey) 
Email: tatjana.good@jcu.edu.au
Phone: +61 7 4781 3189

 

 

Jorge G. Álvarez-Romero (Research Fellow)
Email: jorge.alvarezromero@jcu.edu.au
Phone: +61 7 4781 6517

 

 

Amélie Augé (Research Fellow)
Email: amelie.auge@jcu.edu.au
Phone: +61 7 4781 6143

 

 

Jana BrotankovaJana Brotankova (Research Fellow)
Email: jana.brotankova@jcu.edu.au
Phone: +61 7 4781 5222

 

 

Ian Craigie (Research Fellow)
Email: Ian.craigie@jcu.edu.au
Phone: +61 7 4781 5282

 

 

Mariana Fuentes (Research Fellow)
Email: Mariana.Fuentes@jcu.edu.au
Phone:+ 61 7 4781 5270

 

 

Rebecca WeeksRebecca Weeks (Research Fellow)
Email: rebecca.weeks@jcu.edu.au
Phone: +61 7 4781 6134

 

 

Amelia WengerAmelia Wenger (Project Officer)
Email: amelia.wenger@jcu.edu.au
Phone: +61 7 4781 4804

 

 

 

Adjunct researchers

Vanessa Adams (Charles Darwin University) 
Email: vanessa.adams@cdu.edu.au
Phone: +61 8 8946 7449

 

 

Laurence McCook (Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority)
Email: l.mccook@gbrmpa.gov.au
Phone: +61 7 4750 0787

 

 

April ResideApril Reside (James Cook University)
Email: april.reside1@jcu.edu.au
Phone: +61 7 4781 5351

 

 

 

 Past visiting scientists

Rodolphe Devillers (Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada) September 2011 to June 2012
Email: rdeville@mun.ca

 

 

 

Students

Adrian Arias (PhD Student)
Email: adrian.arias@my.jcu.edu.au
Marine spatial planning in Costa Rica: overcoming obstacles

 

 

Stephen Ban (PhD Student)
Email: stephen.ban@my.jcu.edu.au 
Modelling and management of multiple stressors on coral reefs

 

 

Melissa Bos (PhD Student)
Email: melissa.bos@my.jcu.edu.au
Marine conservation finance

 

 

Tom Brewer (PhD Student)
Email: tom.brewer@my.jcu.edu.au
Understanding interactions between social and ecological systems to improve human welfare

 

 

Adriana ChaconAdriana Chacón (Masters student)
Email: adricalv2@yahoo.com
Valuation of the economic and social impact of marine protected areas: a case study of Costa Rica

 

 

Jon DayJon Day (PhD Student)
Email:  j.day@gbrmpa.gov.au
Planning and managing the Great Barrier Reef: lessons learnt for the future planning of the reef and implications for Marine Protected Areas elsewhere

 

Georgina Gurney (PhD Student)
Email: georgina.gurney@gmail.com
Improving the success of marine protected areas: integrating socio-economic factors into conservation planning

 

 

Mélanie Hamel (PhD Student)
Email: melanie.hamel@my.jcu.edu.au
Costs, effectiveness, and cost-effectiveness of habitat-driven conservation planning for Papua New Guinea lagoons and reefs

 

 

Vera Horigue (PhD Student)
Email: vera.horigue@my.jcu.edu.au
Scaling up to form marine protected area networks: The role of coordination and institutional collaborations in the Philippines

 

 

Maha KhalilMaha Khalil (PhD Student)
Email: maha.khalil@kaust.edu.sa
Designing marine protected area networks in the central Saudi Arabian Red Sea

 

 

Maurice KnightMaurice Knight (PhD Student)
Email: Maurice.Knight@wwfus.org
Modelling governance – a case study of the Coral Triangle Initiative on Corals, fisheries and food Security

 

 

Judi LoweJudi Lowe (PhD Student)
Email: judilowe@gmail.com
Dive tourism, alternate livelihoods and the management
of marine protected areas in the Coral Triangle

 

 

Rafael Magris (PhD Student)
Email: rafael.magris@my.jcu.edu.au
Advancing conservation planning for persistence: design of a long-term conservation strategy for Brazilian coral reefs

 

 

Anderson Cassio Sevilha (PhD Student)
Email: anderson.sevilha@my.jcu.edu.au
Systematic conservation planning for the Paranã River Basin, Brazil, under climate change

 

 

Salome Maldonado Villacis (PhD Student)
Email: estefania.maldonadovillacis@my.jcu.edu.au
Biological conservation planning for multiple species habitat restoration in Ecuador

 

 

Heather Welch (Master of Applied Science student)
Email: heather.welch@my.jcu.edu.au
Implications for spatial management of dynamics of chlorophyll a in the Coral Sea

 

 

Past members or previous lives

Vanessa Adams
PhD, 2008-2011
Incorporating socio-economic considerations into systematic conservation planning
Email: vanessa.adams@cdu.edu.au

 

Glenn Almany
Research Fellow, 2010-2013 
Ecology of marine fish 
Email: Glenn.Almany@jcu.edu.au

 

 

Jorge G. Álvarez-Romero
PhD, 2008-2012
Advancing land-sea conservation planning: cross-system threats and competing values
Email:jorge.alvarezromero1@jcu.edu.au

 

Natalie Ban
Research fellow, 2008-2012
Patch dynamics and conservation planning
Email: nban@uvic.ca

 

 

Madeleine Bottrill
PhD (University of Queensland), 2008-2011
Evaluation in conservation decision-making
Email: m.bottrill@conservation.org

 

 

Débora De Freitas
Research fellow, 2008-2010
Systematic conservation planning for the Avon catchment, south-western Australia
Email: debora@uow.edu.au

 

Tatjana Good
Research fellow, 2008-2010
Scale-dependence of conservation priorities
Email: tatjana.good@gmail.com

 

 

Alana Grech
Research fellow, 2010-2013
Conservation planning in Indigenous Sea Country
Email: alana.grech@mq.edu.au

 

 

DIGITAL CAMERASteve Hall
GIS analyst, 2013
Prioritising biosecurity on Western Australia’s islands  
Email: Steve.Hall@jcu.edu.au

 

 

Christina Hicks
PhD student, 2009-2013
Understanding the flow of coral reef ecosystem goods and services in a changing climate
Email: christina.hicks@jcu.edu.au

 

Stephanie Januchowski-Hartley
PhD, 2007-2011
Advancing systematic conservation planning for freshwater ecosystems
Email: stephierenee@gmail.com

 

Johnathan Kool
Research fellow, 2009-2011
Connectivity modeling in the Coral Triangle, and biodiversity patterns in the Great Barrier Reef
Email: jkool@rsmas.miami.edu

 

Mirjam Maughan
GIS Analyst, 2012-2013
GIS databases for Great Barrier Reef islands and coastal zone for conservation planning
Email: Mirjam.Maughan@dnrm.qld.gov.au

 

Morena Mills
PhD, 2008-2011
Planning for action: bridging the gap between systematic conservation planning and conservation
Email: morena.mills@uq.edu.au

 

Rocio Ponce-Reyes
PhD (University of Queensland), 2006-2011
Integrating patterns and processes for assessing priority conservation areas of Mexican tropical montain cloud forest fragments
Email: r.ponce.reyes@gmail.com

 

Casper van de Geer
MAppSc, 2010-2011
Impacts of the Moreton Bay Marine Park rezoning on commerical fishermen
Email: cvandegeer@gmail.com

 

Piero Visconti
PhD, 2008-2011
Addressing new challenges in dynamic conservation planning
Email: pierovisconti@gmail.com

Comments are closed.